Register now for the Golden Triangle Business Roundtable Lunch June 18, 2024 – Speaker Mike Steward with OCI

This Event Reminder is Sponsored by:

Join for our June Membership Luncheon next Tuesday, June 18th at The Pompano | 330 Twin City Hwy. Port Neches, TX 77651.
We are thrilled to hear from our speaker, Mike Steward, HSE Manager at OCI – Clean Ammonia
Register now.


At the inception of the Golden Triangle Construction Users Council, Lee Townsend – Plant Manager of the Texaco Refinery and Don Boumans – Goodrich – Gulf Chemicals co-hosted a dinner for plant managers and contractors to discuss worker safety. Don, Lee and the Chevron Plant Manager, Bill Dunn, were the only managers that attended. Seventeen contractor representatives attended that meeting.

Other managers were finally persuaded to become involved. Roy Comeaux was elected President and things started to take shape and grow. Meetings were held in the mirror room of the Pompano Club to discuss issues relative to contract labor in the Golden Triangle. Average attendance was less than 20 people. An Executive Director was hired to take over the day to day activities of the Council on June 1, 1991. Mr. Don Boumans became the Executive Director of the Golden Triangle Construction User’s Council.

The name of the local user’s council was later changed to the Golden Triangle Business Roundtable (GTBR), contractors were invited to join the Roundtable as subscriber members, and a strong system of committees was formed. Contractor and owner companies became involved with GTBR activities including regular monthly members meetings with an average attendance of approximately 150 people. Membership in the GTBR has grown to over 100 contractor or owner companies representing over 500 member representatives.

In addition to regular monthly meetings, the GTBR has a strong committee structure comprised of Communications, Environmental, Process Safety Management, Safety, Programs, and Turnaround committees populated with representatives from the GTBR host company members with the exception of the Safety Committee. The Safety Committee is comprised of two components; the “Facility Safety Committee” comprised of owner member company representatives, exclusively and, the “Joint Safety Committee” comprised of owner company members to the GTBR, and subscriber members from the contractor company members that provide either maintenance or construction services to the owner member companies.

As part of the organization’s slate of activities, the GTBR sponsors an annual Contractor Safety Award program. That program recognizes the safety performance of the subscriber members to the GTBR through a nominations process by the owner member companies they serve. Safety Awards are awarded in eleven (11) categories: Meritorious, Small-Medium- Large Construction, Small-Medium- Large Maintenance, Small-Medium- Large Specialty, and Engineering.